Petipa Award

The Petipa Award is a prestigious recognition of outstanding talent and commitment to preserving classical ballet and advancing Marius Petipa’s innovative vision in the art of choreography. Founded in 2019 by Vasily Medvedev, President of the Petipa Heritage Foundation (Europe) and Honored Artist of Estonia, the award has honored prominent ballet artists, choreographers, dance critics, and dance institutions. Each year, the award recipients are nominated by distinguished Honorary Advisory Committee, composed of renowned figures in the world of ballet, including Altynai Asylmuratova, Elisa Carrillo Cabrera, Isabelle Ciaravola, David Dawson, Vladimir Malakhov, and Krzysztof Pastor.

The Petipa Heritage Foundation Award is a testament to the continued impact of classical ballet on the world of dance. The award is a celebration of the art form, and an acknowledgment of the hard work, dedication, and talent of those who have dedicated their lives to preserving and advancing the rich traditions of classical ballet.

The first Petipa Heritage Foundation Award ceremony was held in Bratislava at the Slovak National Theatre in 2019, with the following winners:

Manuel Legris, for outstanding contribution to the development of classical choreography and ballet art. Manuel Legris is the artistic director of Teatro alla Scala in Milano, former artistic director of State Ballet Vienna, former Etoile of Paris Opera Ballet, The Knight of the Legion of Honour, winner of Prix Benois de la Danse.

Elisa Carrillo Cabrera, for exceptional artistry and promoting and developing the choreographic traditions of Marius Petipa. Elisa Carrillo Cabrera is prima-ballerina of Staatsballett Berlin, co-artistic director of Compañía Nacional de Danza, artistic director of Sir Anton Dolin Foundation, member of the International Dance Council of UNESCO, Ambassador of Culture in the State of Mexico, winner of Prix Benois de la Danse, “Soul of the Dance” award, and Dance Open ballet award.

Mikhail Kaniskin, for exceptional artistry and promoting and developing the choreographic traditions of Marius Petipa. Mikhail Kaniskin is former principal dancer of Staatsballett Berlin, artistic director of the Kremlin Gala and the international dance festival Danzatlan in Mexico, artistic director of the Sir Anton Dolin Foundation, laureate of “Soul of the Dance,” and winner of Dance Open ballet award.

Jana Hošková, for lifetime achievement and contribution to the art of dance. Jana Hošková is a dance critic, teacher and choreographer of the Czechoslovak state ensemble of songs and dances, editor-in-chief of magazine “Dance Lists” and prominent Czech critic.

Slovak National Ballet, for excellent interpretation of classical ballet works on the occasion of the 100 anniversary of the Slovak National Theatre and the premiere of ballet Don Quixote. Slovak National Ballet is the leading ballet company of the Slovak Republic.

No award ceremonies were held during 2020-2022 due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
The night of brilliance
Upcoming Petipa Awards Gala

Recent Comments

No comments to show.
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No feed found.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to create a feed.

Contact Email

Office Location

15724 Apollo Heights Ct.
Saratoga, California 95070